PDA

View Full Version : Advice please


tsmilliner
06-07-2009, 08:57 AM
Hi I am looking close at buying this guitar. Need to know if it is a fake or real deal.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gibson-Firebird-Non-Reverse-Custom-Shop_W0QQitemZ200348161801QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuita r?hash=item2ea5ae5709&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A4%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1205%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A200

It just looks too nice to be true.

Thanks Tom

7sickstrings
06-07-2009, 02:02 PM
A couple of things stand out. 1. It's not a neck-thru, it's a set neck. 2. I have my doubts about the "Custom Shop" part of the deal, considering it's identical to the listing on MF.

http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/-Firebird-NonReverse-with-3-Mini-Humbucker-Pickups?sku=517867

I'd say other than the jacked up description, it's legit. Just keep in mind that it's a set neck, and not a custom shop instrument.

ermghoti II
06-07-2009, 03:35 PM
1. It's not a neck-thru, it's a set neck. 2. I have my doubts about the "Custom Shop" part of the deal, considering it's identical to the listing on MF.

I bet a lot of people don't know the difference, and Gibson sticks Custom Shop decals on half the stuff they sell. I'd be happier if I could view some previous auctions, but I really can't point to any red flags (like 90 new auctions after a year of inactivity). Communicate with the seller, scammers usually fall apart under questioning.

tsmilliner
06-07-2009, 07:20 PM
Thanks for the advice. I think it is as you said, a somewhat inflated description.
Thanks Tom

Chuck Carter
09-14-2009, 11:02 AM
Hi I am looking close at buying this guitar. Need to know if it is a fake or real deal.

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gibson-Firebird-Non-Reverse-Custom-Shop_W0QQitemZ200348161801QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuita r?hash=item2ea5ae5709&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A12%7C66%3A4%7C39%3A1%7C72%3A1205%7C 240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A200

It just looks too nice to be true.

Thanks Tom

If it is too good to be true it usually is. Besides, when I clicked on your link, the auction item has been removed from e-bay. This is a sure sign that it was a fake. E-bay will not permit Chinese copies to be listed on their site. I know, I was recently stung by 2 Chinese Rickenbacker counterfeits that I tried to resell and was unsure of their authenticity. They monitor the site closely for counterfeit merchandise and will close down an auction if suspicious. Want more info? Write me at cdcarter@rochester.rr.com.

jamehanna
09-17-2009, 05:58 AM
Yes, that description definitely looks inflated to me.

Chuck Carter
09-17-2009, 07:18 AM
Yes, that description definitely looks inflated to me.

A comment from "Oringo" on 12-04-08 says "All though Gibson made a few guitars with bolt-on necks (Sonex, some L6S'), their main models, Les Pauls, SG's, non-reverse Firebirds, Flying V's, Explorers and most everything else have glued in necks (set neck, it's called). Basically, if you see a Les Paul type of guitar with a Fender-style bolt-in neck, it's not a Gibson.

Also, if you're mentioning Indonesia, ......a Cort (guitar) must be marked "made in Indonesia." Gibsons have only ever been made in the USA.
(Epiphones on the other hand are made in the far east under Gibson supervision).

Hope you didn't buy this as a "bargain price Gibson " because it might not be worth the gas to cart it to the dump."

Hope this helps.