PDA

View Full Version : Anyone familiar with this distribution site (ADD)?


Karma1
04-07-2008, 03:41 PM
It's called Artist Direct Distribution - www.artistdd.com
Just wondering if anyone here has any experience with them or would like to check out their website and see what you think. Like a lot of us, I'm looking into marketing/distribution options for my music. I have two ambient/new age cd's out on an established record label that gets me into major stores as well as international distribution, but I also have a few other cd's that I'm marketing independently, as well as a soon to be released dvd that I've collaborated on. I already have my own website as well as a cdbaby page, and am working on creating a myspace page. There are a lot of opportunities out there and I'm just trying to find the best ones. I'd love to get some other forumite's opinion on this one.

PeterTuneCore
04-08-2008, 12:26 PM
It's called Artist Direct Distribution - www.artistdd.com
Just wondering if anyone here has any experience with them or would like to check out their website and see what you think. Like a lot of us, I'm looking into marketing/distribution options for my music. I have two ambient/new age cd's out on an established record label that gets me into major stores as well as international distribution, but I also have a few other cd's that I'm marketing independently, as well as a soon to be released dvd that I've collaborated on. I already have my own website as well as a cdbaby page, and am working on creating a myspace page. There are a lot of opportunities out there and I'm just trying to find the best ones. I'd love to get some other forumite's opinion on this one.

Looks interesting! I see they keep 10%, which bothers me because that's a percentage in perpetuity, without cap--what are they doing to earn that? They know their costs, why not take a flat fee, why tie it to your success?

Of course, I have this problem with all services who take a chunk without working INDIVIDUALLY to help you succeed. That's why when we founded TuneCore, we chose not to take a cut.

Seems there are also flat fees scattered throughout, be careful. And of course, they're not really distributing you--they don't put your music into other stores so much as their own store.

I don't know if they're on the level, this is the first I've heard of them, but I'll look more. Thanks!

--Peter
peter@tunecore.com