PDA

View Full Version : WARNING: mp3lava.com


Fiery Furnace
01-17-2008, 12:34 PM
mp3lava.com is a Russian music site, and I guess some local bands around here have been finding their music for sale on the site, which they never authorized or even heard about.

Downloading is one thing, but making money off your music without your permission is pretty crappy.

I'm not sure what you can do about this given apparently complex (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Copyright_in_Russia) Russian copyright (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/4328269.stm) laws, but it might be worth checking to see if your music is there.

Dean Roddey
01-17-2008, 12:57 PM
It's the same as AllOfMP3. They are basically just ripping off the west because they can get away with it. And of course you'll find many people here in the west who think it's a great thing, because they are sticking it to those evil labels.

georg79
01-20-2008, 04:44 PM
Oh, those great pirates, who only care about art and want to liberate us from the evil labels.

I wonder how they cover their server/traffic costs................................

Dean Roddey
01-20-2008, 04:52 PM
Oh yeh, I'm sure that they are doing it for the art, and not for the money. Lot's of Russian mafia types are like that, or so I hear.

PeterTuneCore
01-21-2008, 01:09 PM
These are pirates, as people are noting. Beware.

There's little one can do to stop them, it's true. Different countries make complex problems out of piracy like this. We follow it closely.

--Peter
peter@tunecore.com